2012 INWAT Awards

INWAT (International Network of Women Against Tobacco) is proud to announce the winners of the 2012 INWAT Awards for outstanding contributions to the promotion of tobacco-free lives for women. The awards are given to coincide with World Conferences on Tobacco or Health and have been presented since 2000. One award recognizes an outstanding contribution to the goals of INWAT. The other recognizes a ‘lifetime’s achievement’ of supporting and advancing work on women and tobacco.

Prof Elif Dagli will be presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of her long-standing and widely recognized leadership in tobacco control, her courageous fight against the tobacco industry and her involvement in getting physicians on the barricades for tobacco control. Prof Elif Dagli is Head of Department of Pediatrics at Marmara University in Istanbul, Turkey and Chair of the Turkish National Coalition on Tobacco or Health.

Dr Mariela C Alderete, a psychologist and researcher from Argentina, will receive the Award for an Outstanding Contribution to the goals of INWAT for her involvement in developing gender-based research to increase the effectiveness of smoking cessation among women and for her participation in capacity building in gender and tobacco issues in Argentina, Latin America and globally

INWAT President, Lorraine Greaves and INWAT Founding Member and Past President, Margaretha Haglund will present the Awards at a ceremony at the 15th World Conference on Tobacco or Health in Singapore on 23 March 2012 at 17.30 pm.

Leave a Comment


Sign up to receive our monthly newsletter for the latest news and updates on our work in the ASEAN region and beyond.