5 in 10 SEA nations ban vapes, e-cigarettes

24 October 2023

By Gerard Naval, Malaya Business Insight

FIVE out of the 10 countries in the South East Asian (SEA) region have banned e-cigarettes and vaping products based on the assessment of the Southeast Asia Tobacco Control Alliance (SEATCA).

According to SEATCA, the sale and use of vapes and electronic cigarettes are already banned in Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Singapore, and Thailand.

There are no existing vape and e-cigarette bans in Myanmar and Vietnam, noted the anti-smoking group.

As for Indonesia, Malaysia, and the Philippines, SEATCA said the use of vapes and electronic cigarettes are merely being regulated.

SEATCA urged the governments of the three countries to strictly regulate vape and e-cigarettes.


Sign up to receive our monthly newsletter for the latest news and updates on our work in the ASEAN region and beyond.