Smoke-free Philippines Mayors Network

“Forming an Alliance: Working Together to Achieve a Smoke-Free Philippines”

19 February 2015:  11 Mayors and their representatives from different regions in the Philippines held a meeting to formally organize a network of mayors for smoke-free cities and municipalities in the Philippines and plan for the 3rd Regional Smoke-free ASEAN Workshop. This was organized by the Southeast Asia Tobacco Control Alliance (SEATCA) with the participation of the League of Cities (LCP) in the Philippines.

Pix 1Mayor Jose Enrique Garcia of Balanga, Bataan, who hosted the 2nd Regional Smoke-free ASEAN Workshop, welcomed his co-mayors and other guests.  Dr. Domilyn Villarreiz, SEATCA’s ASEAN Smoke-free Program Manager, and Co-chairperson of the Davao City Anti-Smoking Task Force gave an overview of the Smoke-free Philippines and Smoke-free Cities ASEAN Network (SCAN), while Dr. Ivan Escartin, OIC of the Department of Health- Health Promotion and Communication Service facilitated the sharing of experiences and challenges of the mayors’ Smoke-free Initiatives.

Mr Vonier delos Reyes, Deputy Executive Director of the LCP, and Atty. Rowie Daroy Morales  led the session to initiate the formation of an alliance of mayors and plan for the next steps in expanding the network.  Part of the discussions were on forming the mission, vision and goals of the group, drafting a smoke-free declaration, protecting the alliance from tobacco industry interference, and organizing the network of mayors, and planning for the next steps.

Meeting Room JLG_7866_2

7 mayors attended, namely:  Mayor Joet Garcia, Balanga, Bataan; Mayor Evelyn Uy, Dipolog City; Mayor Jed Mabilog, Iloilo City; Mayor Maloney Samaco, Maasin, Leyte; Mayor Alan Celino, Roxas City; Mayor Joseph Salvador Tan, Santiago City and Mayor Rommel Maslog of Talisayan, Misamis Oriental. 

 For more information, contact:  Dr. Domilyn Villarreiz, ASEAN Smoke-free Program Manager, SEATCA,