World No Tobacco Day 2015 awards – the winners

Every year, WHO recognizes individuals or organizations in each of the six WHO Regions for their accomplishments in the area of tobacco control. This recognition takes the form of WHO Director-General Special Recognition Awards, World No Tobacco Day Awards, and in 2015, two WHO Director-General’s Special Recognition Certificates.

WHO Director-General Special awards

  • Mr Marcelo Fisch, Head of the Fiscal Special Control Division, Federal Revenue Secretariat, Ministry of Finance, Brazil
  • Kenya Revenue Authority, Kenya

WHO Director-General’s Special Recognition certificates

  • Mr Luk Joossens, Belgium
  • Her Excellency Ms Saira Afzal Tarar, Minister of State for National Health Services, Regulations and Coordination, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan

African Region awardees

  • Association EL BADR, Algeria
  • Dr Mohamed Ould Sidi Mohamed, Burkina Faso
  • His Excellency Dr Richard Nchabi Kamwi, Former Minister of Health and Social Services, the Republic of Namibia
  • Ministry of Finance, the Republic of Seychelles
  • Honourable Dr Chris Baryomunsi, Minister of State for Health and Member of Parliament, the Republic of Uganda

Region of the Americas awardees

  • Ms Stella Aguinaga Bialous, Brazil
  • Dr Mirta Molinari, Director Mexico Office, Regional Coordinator Tobacco Control, Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease, Mexico
  • His Excellency Daniel Ortega Saavedra, President of Nicaragua
  • His Excellency Professor Dr Tabar Vzquez, President of Uruguay
  • Ms Patricia Sosa, Director Latin American Programs, Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids, United States of America

European Region awardees

  • His Excellency Dr Ilir Beqaj, Minister of Health, Albania
  • Professor Murat Tuncer, President of Hacettepe University, Turkey
  • Dr Tibor Baka, Coordinator for Global Tobacco Surveillance System, Slovakia
  • Mr Santiago Menndez Menndez, Director General National Agency for Fiscal Admnistration (AEAT), Spain
  • Kosovo Advocacy and Development Center

South-East Asia Region awardees

  • His Excellency Mr Surendra Singh Negi, Cabinet Minister of Medical, Health and Family Welfare, Government of State of Uttarakhand, Republic of India
  • Mr Amal Pusp, Director, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Republic of India
  • Maldives Customs Services, Republic of Maldives
  • Health Research and Social Development Forum (HERD), the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal
  • His Excellency Dr Nambukara Helambage Rajitha Harischandra Senaratne, Minister of Health and Indigenous Medicine, the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka
  • Legal Advisory Team of Tobacco Control Law, Ministry of Public Health, the Kingdom of Thailand

Western Pacific Region awardees

  • Dr Michelle Scollo, Australia
  • Beijing Municipal Government, the People’s Republic of China
  • Fiji Ministry of Health and Medical Services, the Republic of Fiji
  • Ministry of Health and Sports, Mongolia
  • Ministry of Health, the Independent State of Samoa
  • Professor Nguyen Thi Kim Tien, Minister of Health, The Socialist Republic of Viet Nam

Read more: