Smoke-free universities awarded in Myanmar

1 June 2018:

31 May 2018, Nay Pyi Taw: During the World No Tobacco Day celebration in Myanmar, the Ministry of Health and Sports (MOHS) in close collaboration with the People’s Health Foundation (PHF) with support from the South East Asia Tobacco Control Alliance (SEATCA) awarded smoke/tobacco-free universities in Myanmar.

The following universities were declared winners and were awarded by the Honorable Minister of MOHS, Dr Myint Htwe:

  • 1st Place: University of Medicine (Magway)
  • 2nd Place: University of Dentistry (Yangon)
  • 3rd Place: University of Traditional Medicine (Mandalay)

Outstanding Smoke-free Universities Award were also given to:

  1. University of Nursing (Yangon)
  2. University of Public Health (Yangon)
  3. University of Medical Technology (Yangon)

Other nominees that were given certificates were:

  1. University of Medicine 1 (Yangon)
  2. University of Medicine 2 (Yangon)
  3. University of Community Health (Magway)
  4. University of Medical Technology (Mandalay)
  5. University of Dentistry (Mandalay)
  6. University of Dental Medicine (Mandalay)

This is the first time that MOHS, PHF and SEATCA gave smoke/tobacco-free awards to universities. Smoke-free Universities was initiated in 2016 by PHF and SEATCA that initially includes medical universities only but it has since expanded to non-medical universities. This is PHF and SEATCA’s contribution to Tobacco-free Myanmar.